Fwd: Reminiscences and Locations for the Bio Film

by

 



Subject: Reminiscences and Locations for the Bio Film
Date: Fri, 20 Mar 2009 12:07:36 EDT

I think that Iona, Mull and Glencoe are possible locations. Lord Clark also used Iona for the BBC sereis “Civilization”. My links with this beautiful Island started when my friend Graham Hall and myself drove up to Oban from Aberystwyth. Graham is now a staff member in Meirion Dwyfor and as a student did some geological work on Mull. The route took us past Lough Lomond and on to the Moor of Ranoch past Crianlarich to Oban. The September light in the Hebrides is remarkable, and when we arrived the sea was a bright wine colour from the setting sun, so I took a twenty mile bike ride around Oban, borrowing Graham’s bike. I was a temporary assistant sub warden in charge of the Youth Hostel kitchen, being trained as a chemist. I decided to bicycle around Mull, up to Tobermory Youth Hostel, then down past Inch Kenneth on to the Ross of Mull. It was a pleasure to hear Gaelic being spoken there by young people (that was about 1972). Mull is MacLean country, and still a little desolate from the unfortunate clearances, but supremely beautiful. After a fierce struggle with westerlies I struggled on to the boat across the one mile straight to Iona. As soon as I arrived I encountered a massive downpour of rain which washed me out of the tent borrowed from Graham, and took refuge in the roof of a museum next to a stone effigy of High MacLean, Knight. Iona was the site of a Celtic foundation in whose scriptorium was scribed the Book of Kells, the acknowledged masterpiece of Celtic Art. I had to leave the next day to catch the McBrain Ferry back to Oban. I think it needs some time on Iona to appreciate the beauty of the place. Graham and I also made an ascent of An Tron in GlenCoe, and also another ascent of Pumlumon, when we were caught in a fierce blizzard. I recognize that An Tron means Y Trwyn in Welsh, which is The Nose. I wrote sonnets on these once in a lifetime experiences.

