Fwd: Ordered Material for Personal Standard

by

 



Subject: Ordered Material for Personal Standard
Date: Tue, 24 Mar 2009 10:56:50 EDT

We have completed preparation for raising my personal standard here, and I am very proud and pleased that the Queen awarded me her ancestor’s arms, the golden lion rampant of Rhys ap Grufffydd ap Rhys ap Tewdwr Fawr, twelfth century Prince of Deheubarth, who lies in effigy in St David’s Cathedral, but who is interred I think in Abatu Ystrad Fflur (Strata Florida Abbey) with other mediaeval Princes. As Armiger I am equally proud and pleased to give my consent in law for these arms to be used by the Maxwell Einstein University, of which I am Rector. Under law of arms and in heraldic practice of almost a thousand years, no two coats of arms can be identical, so mine contains elements of my own suggestion painted by an artist of the College of Arms. The Prince was the Patron of the first National Eisteddfod (twelfth century) and of the Premonstratensian (White Canon) Abbey of Tal y Llychau (Talley) now under the care of CADW in most beautiful and serene surroundings in Dyfed (part of ancient Deheubarth).

