Fwd: Ithaca and Cornell

by

 



Subject: Ithaca and Cornell
Date: Sun, 29 Mar 2009 11:37:23 EDT

Ithaca is like Aberystwyth – people like to stay there and it was voted in the top ten small cities of the US. I spent a lot of time in the Clark Library between chemistry and physics, that is an excellent library along with the Olin library. I exchanged poetry with Roald Hoffmann, the Nobel Laureate there in chemistry, where Debye was Chair of chemistry, and met Scheraga, appointed by Debye. Chris Pelkie and I produced the animation on _www.aias.us_ (http://www.aias.us) from the Cornell Theory Center. Ithaca also has its own airport so one can fly in form Logan in Boston or from Philadelphia. I think that the Cornell Campus is among the best in the US, nicer than Princeton, where I worked with Warren’s group.

On Sun, Mar 29, 2009 at 03:25:55AM -0400, EMyrone] at [aol.com wrote: > To Dave Feustel: > Commonlands is just above the Six Mile Creek, and > there was a path down to it from our house in Lois Lane. Ithaca College was > just across the Creek in the distance and Cornell University was just down the > road. The Theory Center was just on an entrance to the Campus, founded by Ken > Wilson the Nobel Laureate. In Ithaca they has a barter system with no money > in the farmers market. I had to pass my exam for US citizenship twice, once in > Florida and once in New York in Buffalo. > I used to go to the Ithaca Farmers’ Market on weekends. Money was still being accepted then. I think that was before Ithaca Bucks were introduced. I also used to spend a lot of time at McBooks and had breakfast almost every day at Hal’s Diner, right across the street. One morning I saw Carl Sagan, Cornell’s most famous astronomer, sitting in Hal’s. He did not look good and died some months later.

