Fwd: Mature Photographic Work and Other Photographs

by

 



Subject: Mature Photographic Work and Other Photographs
Date: Sun, 19 Apr 2009 04:14:34 EDT

I have a large collection here of what I would call my mature photographic work, which started in about 1987 in Port Ewen in the Hudson Valley of New York State. I was fascinated by the new world landscape, with its tall trees and deep and wide creeks and rivers and its harsh winters and hot humid summers. I developed a deep contrast black and white style which does not scan very well on a scanner, but will attempt to send through one or two photographs. I donated a large collection of books and photographs to the main library of Swansea University, but unfortunately the photographs were put up in direct sunlight and faded. I have unfaded originals here, carefully kept out of direct sunlight. The Taughannock colour sequence in Kodak Ektar is on _www.aias.us_ (http://www.aias.us) . This is a sequence of photographs of the Taughannock stream, which falls over a high waterfall and runs into Lake Cayuga in north central New York State near Ithaca, the site of Cornell University. The Taughannock State Park was started by the FDR Adminsitartion in the thirties as a work scheme to get out of the economic troubles of those times. I was naturalized a US citizen at Cornell in 2000.

Evans of Glyneithrym.

