Fwd: Twenty Years a Growing

by

 



Subject: Twenty Years a Growing
Date: Sun, 19 Apr 2009 03:39:44 EDT

“Twenty Years a Growing” is a delightful autobiography written in Gaelic by Maurice O’Sullivan of the Blasket Islands of the west coast of Ireland. These photographs are ones that I found from about 1951 to 1971, they also contain some quite good photographs by professionals of my immediate family, my father the late Edward Ivor Evans (1922 – 2000), my mother the late Mary Evans (nee Jones (1926 – 2002), and my sistre Gwenydd, two years yunger than me, and my cousin Ellis Williams and his family.

1) Making a botanical study of grass, Gelliwastad, 1951. 2) Aged about 3 or 4. 3) Aged about 3 or 4. 4) Thumbing nose at camera, aged about 3. 5) Aged about 4. 6) Aged about 5 or 6 with cap. This is a good portrait group by a Swansea professional photographer, o fmy immediate family. 7) With mu cousin the late Marbeth Williams (nee Hopkins), aged about seven, on a Massey Ferguson (“Fergie”) tractor on Blaen Cwm, near Llandysul. 8) With my cousin Ellis Williams, and his father Cen. Cen’s father and twin brother and sister, Eurwyn and Eirian WIlliams, Blaen Cwm, aged about seven or eight. 9) With Marbeth, my sister Gwenydd, and Ellis as an infant, aged about eight or nine, 48 Rhyddwen Road , Craigcefnparc, next door coal miner’s house to this one, built 1896. 10) Aged about nine, with my sister and cousin Ellis, in Sunday school best. 11) After the hay harvest, Pant y Bedw, Craigcefnparc, aged about 11 (1961). 12) Aged about fifteen, marks of heavy study at Pontardawe Garmmar School, background is the original local stone wall of 48 Rhyddwen Raod. 13) Undergraduate passport photograph, aged about 18, Aberystwyth first year undergraduate. 14) Graduate photograph aged 21, taken by a Swansea professional photographer, top first in chemistry, University College of Wales Aberystwyth, 1971.


Attachment: acollectionofearlysnapshots.pdf

