Fwd: Some lines about the late Mary Evans

by

 



Subject: Some lines about the late Mary Evans
Date: Wed, 22 Apr 2009 13:47:21 EDT

My late mother Mary Evans (1926 – 2002) was the daughter of Thomas Elim Havard-Jones and Martha Jane Newlands and was born in this house, built by my great grandfather William Newlands of a Pembroke family. I was also born in this house in 1950. She was educated until the age of about 15 or 16, and won many Eisteddfodol awards for the soprano / alto duet with Mrs Meirwen Thomas, nee Harris (soprano), who is a graduate of UCW Aberystwyth. They were taught by my grandfather, who was head deacon and choir master at Elim Baptist Chapel, also a brass band leader and organist. My late mother worked in the canteen of a colliery during wartime, and later in Lewis Lewis of Swansea. This shop escaped incendiary and heavy bomb damage in the raid on Swansea and she kept working throughout the bombing. She was married to my late father Edward Ivor Evans in 1948. In about 1954 they moved to “Pant y Bedw”. She met Grindell-Mathews in about 1938, when selling flags for a charity I think. That was in Tor Glawdd, his house and laboratory on Mynydd y Gwair. She was a Welsh Baptist, baptised at Elim, and was fluent and well read in both Welsh and English, without a formal education. Both my parents were highly intelligent, my mother had more of an education than my father, who left school at 12 to become a farm servant. My mother was also an accomplished pianist and could read music well. My cousin Marbeth was an L.R.A.M. (Licentiate of the Royal Academy of Music), as was her mother, my great aunt Maude. Both could play Mozart and Beethoven, Bach and the great composers. My grandfather composed four part harmony in do re mi notation in this same room. My mother had a cheerful character usually, but had to face some severe hardships as did everyone in a coal mining community. She was able to produce needlework and knitwear to a hard standard, and had an obvious grasp of patterns in her mind. Like my grandmother she was an accomplished chef, so I was well taken care of. Pattern recognition is of course important in science too. As she got older she developed quite severe deafness, and a lung complaint which got worse as time went on. Fortunately I was able to come back here in 2001 with the help of Ellis Williams and his father Cen, and by that time she had moved back into this house where she was born in 1926. She died in August 2002 of a stroke, and the last time I saw her was in Morriston Hospital. She raised a hand in farewell, kind hearted to the end. My father died suddenly of a pulmonary oedema in 2000 when I was in Ithaca, this was a lung rupture due to coal dust. He was cremated and his ashes scattered on the Mountainside behind Grithig, at his request.

